Social Services Board



Created by General Statutes 108A-1

The function of the Board is to make policies and recommendations governing the administration and operation of the Johnston County Department of Social Services.

The County appoints 2 members of the 5 member Board' 2 members are appointed by the State and one member appointed by other Board members. The Board meets on the 4th Tuesday Monthly' at 8:30 a.m. in the DSS Conference Room - 2nd floor. For further information' contact Christine M. Dowdell at 919-989-5300.


Board Members

James O. Coleman' Chair
Smithfield, NC
Term Expires:  June 30, 2026

Patrick E. Harris
Smithfield, NC

Angelique Legette
Smithfield, NC
Term Expires:  June 30, 2026

Susan Watson' Vice Chair
Selma, NC
Term Expires:  June 30, 2027

Kimberly Wooten
Smithfield, NC
Term Expires:  June 30, 2025

All inquiries go through the DSS main number:

(919) 989-5300

This includes Food Stamps (FNS), Medicaid, Temporary Assistance Needy Families (TANF), Child Care, Child Protection, Adult Protection, Foster Parenting, Transportation, and more.

Report Child Abuse/Neglect

E-mail or call
After normal business hours, call 919-989-5000 and ask to speak with the on-call social worker.

Report Adult Abuse/Neglect

Monday through Friday 8 am through 5 pm (919) 989-5300.
After hours, weekends and holidays, please call 911 or (919) 989-5000.

Domestic Violence

Call 911 or (919) 989-5000.